Kick-off Coming Soon
Men's Soccer | 06/28/2018

Kick-off Coming Soon

YUMA, Ariz. – The Arizona Western College men’s soccer team has racked up 10 straight playoff appearances, and now the team is aiming for number 11 with the release of the 2018 schedule. The Mats play 20 regular-season matches, all in the rough-and-tumble Arizona Community College Athletic Conference.

The Mats dive right into conference play to start the year. The team opens with a tough test with Pima coming to Yuma on Thursday, August 23 at 4:30 p.m. AWC heads out for two straight on the road to finish August.

On Saturday, September 1, the Mats host Paradise Valley at 4:30 p.m. before welcoming South Mountain to town on Tuesday, September 4 at 4:30 p.m. AWC then travels to Phoenix for a Thursday night tilt before coming back to take on Glendale on Saturday, September 8 at 4:30 p.m. AWC goes to Scottsdale on Tuesday, September 11 before earning a week off in the schedule.

The Mats pick things back up with a four-home-match in five match stretch. First up? Yavapai on Tuesday, September 18 at 4:30 p.m. AWC then hosts Mesa to mark the halfway point of the regular season on Thursday, September 20. After a trip to Pima, the Mats come back to Yuma to host GateWay on Tuesday, September 25 and Chandler-Gilbert on Saturday, September 29. Both games are at 4:30 p.m.

In October, AWC has a road heavy schedule. The Mats travel to Paradise Valley and South Mountain before finishing with the first week of October with a home match against Phoenix on Saturday, October 6 at 4:30 p.m. The Mats travel to Glendale on Tuesday, October 9 and then come back to Yuma for sophomore night against Scottsdale on Thursday, October 11 at 4:30 p.m. AWC closes the regular season with two straight on the road at Yavapai (October 16) and Mesa (October 18).

AWC went 13-5-4 last season and fell to Pima in the Region semifinals.

Arizona Western College is one of the top community colleges in Arizona. The college boasts partnerships with all three state universities that include face-to-face classes in Yuma.

--MATADORS--

Share this article